Sustainable Development Awards

Sustainable Development Awards:
Winners revealed at Productronica.

Members of the Sustainability Summit Working Groups celebrated leaders, innovators and pioneers at the highly anticipated awards ceremony in Munich.

Winners of this year’s Sustainable Development Awards were revealed today during a ceremony held at the opening conference session on the occasion of the 20th edition of Productronica, when Sophie B. de la Giroday, President of Wise Media, moderated the “CEO Round Table” on Industry 4.0.

Sustainable Development Working Group members gathered for the annual Sustainable Development Awards ceremony, hosted in Munich on the occasion of the world’s largest manufacturing trade fair engaging the electronics industry. After a year-long effort by the Working Groups engaged in different appointments around the world to debate modern development strategies, policies and projects, the event put the spotlight on 30 high-caliber nominees for the prestigious Sustainable Development Awards 2013, resulting in five esteemed winners.

“The community of those who drive change is growing in number and influence, as demonstrated by this year’s outstanding interest in bringing individual efforts to international attention. Earlier this year, we reached out to the active players who found policies, solutions and methodologies that support modernization and development within our society in light of common goals related to the emerging sustainability roadmaps, to nominate their award candidates. The call for action resulted in massive response,” said Sophie B. de la Giroday, President of Wise Media, during the ceremony.

Five awards were presented to the following winners:

  • Electronics Day Award

Presented to Dr. Kwangill Koh, CEO, Koh Young, for the introduction of 3D measurement and inspection methods, which have set a new standard in electronics manufacturing, offering advanced measurement accuracy and reliability in order to reduce production’s environmental footprint. The Electronics Day Award is assigned to a person demonstrating outstanding commitment and vision in making a lasting difference by driving one of the most important industries world-wide towards a being more sustainable one.

  • Future Cities Award

Presented to Sture Udd, CEO, Upcode, for his work within the concept of the digital society through the deployment of mobile electronics, which could radically reduce costs in developing and investing in legacy infrastructures, bringing increased efficiency in governance and streamlining access to services in urban environments. The Future Cities Award is assigned to a person who has been successfully fostering new opportunities to sustain development, security and mobility via modern and intelligent ICT Infrastructures in the context of today’s metropolises

  • Resources Award

Presented to Azita Yazdani, CEO, Exergy, for her work within advanced membrane and electrochemical separation technologies for the recovery of valuable process materials and the reuse of water, as well as recycling technologies for wet manufacturing and waste reduction. The Resources Award is assigned to the person who fosters a smarter approach to product lifecycles and materials usage based on a growing awareness of its impact on economic development and on the planet in general.

  • Infrastructures Award

Presented to Dr. Gerald Santucci, Head of Unit “Knowledge Sharing”, European Commission, for his longstanding commitment to developing cooperation within the EU and with Europe’s international partners to promote the standards and regulations in Internet related technologies and systems for the implementation of tomorrow’s knowledge society. The Infrastructures Award is assigned to the person who excelled in creating a legacy of environmental stewardship through improving efficiency and sustainability of existing structures.

  • Special Recognition of the Year (Aero Innovation)

The two categories of innovation on which the nominee selection focused in 2013 were Aero Innovation and Automotive Innovation. David Hall, VP RF Integrated Solutions, Microsemi was presented with the Special Recognition of the Year in Aero Innovation for his work and dedication to delivering products that make a difference in terms of performance, reliability and safety in avionics, such as the development of Smartfusion solutions operational at extreme temperatures. This accolade is a special recognition, surrounding innovation in a key vertical sector, of persons driving change through new paradigms or setting new milestones by developing smarter ways for safe, controlled and secure state-of-the-art applications.

Image Gallery


Read more about the Awards
Read the motivations of the candidates
Read about the Working Groups of the Sustainability Summit

For further media information, please contact:
Pier Paolo Costa: